Awesome T-Shirt Bag

March 19, 2010 at 1:00 AM (Uncategorized) ()

Tutorial 18.3.2010

I was late for class today.

An hour late. >.< Yikes.

Had my college dinner the night before – Malam Anugerah Pelajar (MAP) XIII – in which I was an AJK of the Protocol Department. I learned a lesson here:

NEVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER JOIN PROTOCOL FOR ANY EVENT EVER  !!!!!!

Well, I am thankful for the experience, but I would never be that foolish again. >.<

Anyways, the event ended at 12.00am but by the time we had cleared all the tables and chairs and swept the floor clear of litter and rubbish, it was 1.00am. After washing up and showering, I plonked into bed, unconscious, at about 1.30am.

The last thing I remember was waking up at 7.05am when my roomie’s alarm went off, then frowning because I had set mine to 7.45am.

When I next opened my eyes, it was 9.30am.

My class started at 9.00am.

You should have seen me JUMP out of bed !

I was actually really disappointed for being late. Because I missed out on more than half the class’s presentations ! And I was so looking forward to seeing what everyone else had done for their non-electronic teaching aids.

Yes, did I mention that the one day I am late to class is the day that we are supposed to present our projects?

Talk about irony >.<

I missed a lot of my classmate’s presentations, which is sad. But I was happy to present mine ! :)

I got the idea for my non-electronic teaching aid from a Youtube Video actually, which I thought was really cool and simple to make, and thus, the perfect project to do with special children, which Major Jasmy kinda emphasized on :)

It was a T-Shirt bag. :P

It is basically a bag made from an old t-shirt. It was really simple to make, taking up only half an hour of my time. All I needed for materials was an old t-shirt, black duct tape, a pair of scissors and a stapler and staples.

The only difficult part was forming the shape of the bag, but the rest was just lining the bag with the black duct tape.

It was a fun project to do and I love the end result !

Ain't it pwetty?? :)

(p.s: Thanks Yana for modelling for me ! :P)

I guess it helped that my t-shirt had a nice “bag-feel” to it. So it ended up looking like a bag I could have bought from a store. :)

I felt that this was a good teaching aid, in the sense that it could become an individual class project for children to do. It was simple because there was no sewing involved at all. Just a lot of stapling and taping :)

The children would have fun doing it, and they would end up with a little recycled bag they could use to put their water bottle, umbrella and lunch box in. Each bag would be different because they would be using old t-shirts that they each used to own.

And it would practically cost them nothing, since the main material needed was an old, unwanted t-shirt ! The black duct tape and stapler can be provided by the teacher. The children may need a little help with the stapling stage of making the t-shirt bag, but most of it would be done by the children themselves.

Hence, I personally love the non-electronic aid I chose to do :)

Argh. How I wish I had not been late and missed the rest of the class’s presentations ! :(

Anyway, had an interesting class today – admired many of my classmate’s creativity and hard work !

I LOVE my T-Shirt Bag ;P

Leave a Reply

